Fixing Gmail incorrect password/user error (iPhone and iPad)

PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS AN ENTRY PROVIDING INFORMATION IN THE HOPE IT MAY HELP. I CANNOT HELP YOU WITH SPECIFIC PROBLEMS WITH YOUR ACCOUNT.

I recently got a very annoying error message in an iPhone regarding the password/user resolution for my Gmail account. I again and again kept entering the correct combination and nothing seemed to work. I thought I was mistyping, or perhaps my fingertips suddenly got fatter… I tried logging in via the website and lo and behold I could indeed login.

ErrorPasswordThe message: ‘The user name or password for “imap.gmail.com” is incorrect’ and it appears even if you haven’t made any changes to your account. Well, here is a way to solve the issue:

  1. Quit all mail clients that are having the issue. For the iPhone or iPad you can open the multi-tasking menu and tap the mail icon for a few seconds. A red minus sign will appear at the upper left-hand corner. Tap the minus sign and that quits the application.
  2. Open a web browser (Safari will do) and go to the following link: http://www.google.com/accounts/DisplayUnlockCaptcha
  3. Login using your credentials for the troublesome account to verify the account.
  4. Open again your Mail app and voilà

Enjoy!

One thought on “Fixing Gmail incorrect password/user error (iPhone and iPad)

  1. Pingback: Syncing Gmail contacts to iPhone or iPad | Quantum Tunnel

Comments are closed.